EECS Research Students Symposium - 2019

April 12 - 13, 2019

Faculty Hall, Indian Institute of Science

Welcome to the Tenth EECS Research Students Symposium

EECS-2019 is an initiative of the Division of EECS and is primarily a forum for presentations by senior research students (expecting to graduate in 2019) involving the Departments of Computational and Data Sciences (CDS), Computer Science and Automation (CSA), Electrical Communication Engineering (ECE), Electrical Engineering (EE), Electronic Systems Engineering (ESE) and the Robert Bosch Centre for Cyberphysical Systems (RBCCPS).

We invite technocrats, researchers, faculty members, and research students working in EECS to come and share their research and provide feedback to presenters. We especially invite the alumni of the division to join us for this event and see where their division is headed.


The EECS Symposium organizing committee welcomes faculty members and students from engineering colleges, researchers at research labs, and industry professionals. Selected participants will be notified via email. Registration is free.

Registration Deadline : Wednesday, April 11, 2019, 10AM IST


Keynote Speakers

M. Balakrishnan

IIT Delhi

P. Anandan

Wadhwani Institute for Artificial Intelligence

Industry Spotlight Speaker

Dr. Indrajit Bhattacharya

TCS Innovation Labs, Kolkata

R&D Spotlight Speaker

Md. Mahamood

Power Grid Corporation of India Limited

Invited Speakers

Pankaj Risbood


Naganand Doraswamy

Idea Spring Capital

Shyam Vasudevarao

ForUs Health

Faculty Speakers

Arkaprava Basu


Deepak Subramani


Sarasij Das


Shishir Nadubettu Yadukumar Kolathaya

RBCCPS, IISc (Inspire Faculty)


Friday, April 12, 2019
08:30 - 09:10 Registration
09:10 - 09:15 Welcome Remarks
09:15 - 9:45 Faculty Talk 1: Rajiv Soundararajan (ECE)
Quality Assessment of Image Stitching for Virtual Reality
Session Chair: Prof. Sashikumaar Ganesan (CDS)
09:45 - 10:15 Faculty Talk 2: Arkaprava Basu (CSA)
Programmability at low overhead for heterogeneous computing
Session Chair: Prof. Sashikumaar Ganesan (CDS)
10:15 - 10:45 Faculty Talk 3: Deepak Subramani (CDS)
Optimal Path Planning in Dynamic Environments
Session Chair: Prof. Sashikumaar Ganesan (CDS)
10:45 -11:15 Coffee Break (Faculty Hall Reception Area)
11:15 - 12:00 Keynote Talk 1: M. Balakrishnan (IIT Delhi)
ASISTECH: Assistive Technology Solutions for Mobility & Education of Visually Impaired
Session Chair: Dr. Kaushik Basu (EE)
12:00 - 12:45 Keynote Talk 2: P. Anandan (Wadhwani Institute of Artificial Intelligence)
AI Solutions for the Underserved Billions
Session Chair: Dr. Kaushik Basu (EE)
12:45 - 14:00 Lunch (Guest House Lawns)
14:00 - 14:45 Industry Spotlight Talk: Dr. Indrajit Bhattacharya (TCS Innovation Labs, Kolkata)
Discovering Topical Interactions in Text-based Cascades using Hidden Markov Hawkes Processes
Session Chair: Dr. Arindam Khan (CSA)
14:45 - 15:15 R&D Spotlight Talk: Mr. Md. Mahamood (Sr. General Manager, Power Grid Corporation of India)
Session Chair: Dr. Arindam Khan (CSA)
15:15 - 17:00 Poster Session with High Tea (Presenters and Poster Titles)
Faculty Hall Reception Area
17:00 - 17:30 Invited Talk: Pankaj Risbood (ZENDRIVE)
Session Chair: Prof. L. Umanand (ESE)
17:30 - 18:15 Invited Talk: Naganand Doraswamy (Idea Spring Capital)
Session Chair: Prof. L. Umanand (ESE)
18:15 - 18:45 Invited Talk: Shyam Vasudevarao (ForUs Healthcare)
Affordable healthcare solutions for Ophthalmology and Nephrology
Session Chair: Prof. L. Umanand (ESE)
18:45 - 19:45 Jump Start: Interaction with Start-up Leaders
Session Chair: Prof. G. Narayanan (EE)
20:00 - 21:00 Dinner (Guest House Lawns)
Saturday, April 13, 2019
09:00 - 10:30 TCS Research Cafe for IISc Students (ECE Golden Jubilee Seminar Hall)
Citrix Research Cafe for IISc Students (CSA 117 - Department of CSA)
10:00 - 10:30 Coffee (Faculty Hall Reception Area)
10:30 - 11:00 Faculty Talk 4: Sarasij Das (EE)
Data Markets for Smart Grids
11:00 - 11:30 Faculty Talk 5: Shayan Garani Srinivasa (ESE)
Magnetic Data Storage: The Journey of a Bit
11:30 - 12:00 Faculty Talk 6: Shishir N. Y. Kolathaya (RBCCPS)
From Simulation to Experimental Realization of Quadrupedal Walking in Stoch
12:00 - 12:30 Updates from IISc
12:30 - 13:00 Valedictory
13:00 - 14:00 Lunch (Guest House Lawns)


Platinum Sponsors

Gold Sponsors

Silver Sponsors

Best Poster and Demo Prize Sponsors


Technical Events : Faculty Hall, IISc | Lunch: Guest House Lawns, IISc


For any queries please write to :

Student Captain:
Aditay Tripathi
PhD Student, CDS

Student Vice-captain:
Ajay Badita
PhD Student, ECE

Organizing Committee

Faculty Coordinators

A. Chockalingam

Chairman, ECE, IISc

Shalabh Bhatnagar

Chairman, CSA, IISc

Sashikumaar Ganesan

Chairman, CDS, IISc

Narayanan G

Chairman, EE, IISc

Joy Kuri

Chairman, ESE, IISc

Bharadwaj Amrutur

Chairman, RBCCPS, IISc

Anand Louis


Deepak Subramani


Sarasij Das


Shishir Nadubettu Yadukumar Kolathaya

RBCCPS, IISc (Inspire Faculty)

Student Coordinators

  • Aditay Tripathi, CDS
  • Ajay Badita, ECE
  • Protik Kumar Paul, CSA
  • Siddharth D Jaiswal, CDS
  • Ramu Nair, EE
  • Rohit Choudhary, CDS
  • Vivek VP, CSA
  • Karthik P N, ECE
  • Bharat S, ECE
  • Garima Gupta, ECE
  • V S N Sitaramgupta V, DESE
  • Apoorv Saxena, CDS
  • Ashutosh Kumar, CDS
  • Asha Radhakrishnan, EE
  • Indla Rajitha Sai Priyamvada, EE