IISc Director: Anurag Kumar (ECE)

Professor Anurag Kumar obtained his B.Tech degree from the Indian Institute of Technology at Kanpur, and his PhD from Cornell University, both in Electrical Engineering. He was then with Bell Laboratories for over six years. He returned to India in 1988, and has since been with the Indian Institute of Science (IISc), on the faculty of the Department of Electrical Communication Engineering. Before taking over as  Director on 1st August 2014, he was Chair of the Electrical Sciences Division since 2007. From 1988 to 2003 he was the Coordinator at IISc of the Education and Research Network Project (ERNET), a national program that saw a collaboration between the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) and the Government of India, establishing India’s first wide-area packet switching network.

His area of research is communication networking, specifically, modeling, analysis, control, and optimisation problems arising in communication networks and distributed systems. Recently his research has focused primarily on wireless networking.  He has been elected Fellow of the IEEE, the Indian National Science Academy (INSA), the Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE), the Indian Academy of Science (IASc), and The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS). During the period 2005-2009, he was an area editor for the IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking. He received the IISc Alumni Award for Excellence in Engineering Research for 2008. He is a J.C. Bose National Fellow, this being awarded by the Department of Science and Technology, for the period 2011-2021.

Divisional Chair: Y. Narahari (CSA)

Y. Narahari is a Professor at the Department of Computer Science and Automation. The focus of his current research is to explore problems at the interface of computer science and game theory. His recent publications include a textbook “Game Theory and Mechanism Design” brought out by the IISc Press and the World Scientific Publishing Company in 2014. He is an elected Fellow of: IEEE, Indian National Science Academy, Indian Academy of Sciences, Indian National Academy of Engineering, and the National Academy of Sciences India. He is a J.C. Bose National Fellow.

Chair, EE : G. Narayanan

Professor G Narayanan obtained his B.E from Anna University, Chennai, M.Tech from IIT Kharagpur and Ph.D from IISc.

Chair, ECE : A. Chockalingam

Professor A Chockalingam obtained his B.E.(Honours) from P. S. G. College of Technology, Coimbatore, M.Tech from IIT Kharagpur and Ph.D from IISc.

His research areas are in Next Generation Modulation Schemes for 5G and Beyond, Machine Learning in Wireless Communications, Visible Light Wireless Communications and Low-Complexity Wireless Communication in Large Dimensions

Chair, CSA: Shalabh Bhatnagar

Professor Shalabh Bhatnagar obtained his B. Sc. (Honors) in Physics from University of Delhi, M.E and Ph.D from IISc.

Chair, ESE : Joy Kuri

Professor Joy Kuri obtained his B.E.  from Jadavpur University, Kolkata, M.E and Ph.D from IISc

Scroll Up