Dean of Division Prof. Rajesh Sundaresan

Rajesh Sundaresan received the BTech Degree in Electronics and Communication from the Indian Institute of Technology Madras and the MA and PhD degrees in Electrical Engineering from Princeton University. He then worked at Qualcomm Inc. on the design and development of wireless modems. He joined IISc in 2005, where he is a Professor in the Department of Electrical Communication Engineering and an associate faculty in the Robert Bosch Centre for Cyber-Physical Systems. He has held visiting positions at Qualcomm Inc., the Coordinated Sciences Laboratory of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, the Toulouse Mathematical Institute, Strand Life Sciences, and the Indian Statistical Institute’s Bengaluru Centre. His research interests include decision theory, communication, computation, and control over networks, cyber-social systems, and, more recently, data-driven decision frameworks for public health responses.

Chair, EE : Udaya Kumar

Udaya Kumar is currently a Professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering, Indian Institute of Science. He ऱJobtained a master’s and Ph.D., from high voltage engineering, IISc, in 1991 and 1998. His main areas of interest are Lightning, Electromagnetics, and High Voltage Engineering.

Has was a member of international working groups on lightning-related topics and Chair of IISc GATE office.

He has/had projects with Indian Space Agency, Aeronautical Development Agency, Metro/Railways, and Power companies.

He is an Editor of IEEE Trans on Power Delivery, Associate Editor of IET High Voltage, and PAC member of a SERB’s committee & Technical member of the Lightning Protection committee of NDMA.

Chair, ECE : K J Vinoy

K.J. Vinoy, (Ph.D. Pennsylvania State University, USA) joined the Indian Institute of Science Bangalore in 2003 where he is currently a Professor at the Electrical Communication Engineering Department.  He is serving as the Chairperson of the Centre for Scientific and Industrial Consultancy, and the Office of Career Counselling and Placement.   He has published over 250 papers in technical journals and conferences, holds two US patents and has filed three Indian patents.  He is the series editor for Briefs on Computational Electromagnetics (Springer) and has authored four books.  He was elected a Fellow of INAE in 2011.

Chair, CSA : Chiranjib Bhattacharyya

Chiranjib Bhattacharyya is currently  Professor in the Department of Computer Science and Automation, Indian Institute of Science.  His research interests are in foundations of Machine Learning, Optimisation and their applications to Industrial problems.

He has authored numerous papers in leading journals and conferences in Machine Learning. Some of his results have won best paper awards.

He joined the Department of CSA, IISc, in 2002 as an Assistant Professor. Prior to joining the Department he was a postdoctoral fellow at UC Berkeley. He holds BE and ME degrees, both in Electrical Engineering, from Jadavpur University and the Indian Institute of Science, respectively, and completed his PhD from the Department of Computer Science and Automation, Indian Institute of Science.

He is also a fellow of Indian Academy of Engineering.

For more information about his work please see http://mllab.csa.iisc.ac.in

Chair, ESE : L Umanand

Professor Umanand works in the broad area of electronic systems engineering with emphasis on power electronics. Some of the topics and products that he has researched on are: Modeling and Design of a Solar Hybrid Desalination System with Pressure Modulation, Insolation model for India, Battery buffered stiff micro grid structure for a variable speed slip ring induction machine based wind generation system, Modeling, Optimization and Design of a solar thermal energy transport system for hybrid cooking application, Design of High efficiency grid connectible quality power supply with switching magnetics, Modelling and Simulation of Switched Mode Power Converters: A Bond Graph Approach, Standalone micro-hydel generation system using doubly fed induction generator with unbalanced load compensation, Induction motor based electric propulsion for hybrid electric vehicles, Building energy management towards zero grid energy, Vector control of induction motor, Vector control of PMSM motor, Single phase grid connected inverter from PV panel, Three phase grid connected inverter from PV panel, Pulsed power electroplating, Solar stand alone inverter, Solar pumping, Electronic ballast, Solar lantern, Unity power factor front end converter, Electric scooter, Series hybrid electric vehicle for three wheeled vehicle, Parallel hybrid electric vehicle for three wheeled vehicle, Single phase induction generation, Multi-power port for energy management in hybrid electric vehicle.

Scroll Up